marco cappelli trio

music - 2018

Marco Cappelli Acoustic Trio Marco Cappelli (guitar), Ken Filiano (bass), Satoshi Takeishi (percussion)

The Marco Cappelli Acoustic Trio explores the "chamber music" sound of Cappelli's classical prepared guitar in combination with Ken Filiano’s powerful acoustic bass playing and Satoshi Takeishi’s very special set of percussion. The trio was formed back in 2009 by three very active improvisers in the New York avant-garde music scene and gained a reputation through many appearances in New York's venues as well as two European Tours in 2011 and 2013.

Cappelli’s original music for the trio is inspired by mystery literature. Their first CD, Les Nuages en France (Mode Records, 2011) is dedicated to French writer Fred Vargas. The second cd release, titled Le Stagioni del Commissario Ricciardi, (Tzadik, 2013), is dedicated to Italian writer Maurizio De Giovanni and his fiction character Commissario Ricciardi, whose action takes place in Naples during the time of the fascist Mussolini regime in 1930s.

Highly acclaimed by the press, the last cd has received "four stars" by the prestigious DownBeat Magazine, which noted the "actractive themes and hooky grooves", and " the cinematic, even sinister quality of this music".

Nowadays the Trio is working on a new recording project dedicated to the Norwegian writer Jo Nesbø in collaboration with special guest Oscar Noriega on clarinet and DJ Olive on turntables.

The Marco Cappelli Acoustic Trio is also collaborating with Italian composer Daniele Del Monaco at the projects PSYCHOPLUM! and THE ZONE (this latter also featuring singer Fay Victor and guitarist Marc Ribot).